Severo Ochoa Programme

Jesús Serra Foundation visitors

Logo Fundación Jesús Serra

The IAC has been chosen by the Jesús Serra Foundation to participate in its “Visiting Researchers Programme”. The new period includes 2020-2022. Each year, the programme supports stay of one - three months at the IAC for visiting professors of international prestige. These visits allow, first, to deepen the scientific relationship between the host research group and the visiting researcher, and secondly, to initiate new lines of action based on the generation of new scientific interests.

The funding scheme offered by the Jesus Serra Foundation consists of: maximum funding of 3000 euros /month. This scheme will accommodate to the standard rules of the IAC for "Bolsas de Viaje para Visitantes".

In any case diets to be claimed shall refer to those in force in national territory according to Royal Decree 462/2002. According to this Royal Decree, the visiting researcher with a longer stay of 1 month, could be reimbursed with up to 80% of the maximum per diem, i.e 2400 €/month for accommodation & subsistence, not being necessary invoices related to such concepts.

Related agreement: Convenio entre la Fundación Jesús Serra y el Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias

Researchers who have visited the IAC under this programme -or will visit it in the near future- are listed below:

  • Dra. Minia Manteiga Outeiro
    PROF. MINIA MANTEIGA OUTEIRO (Universidad de A Coruña)

    - University Professor. University of A Coruña. Area of Astronomy and Astrophysics. - Full member of the Galician Royal Academy of Sciences. Section of Physical Sciences, Computational Mathematics. - Vice-president of the SEA (Spanish Society of Astronomy). Dr. Minia Manteiga graduated in Physics from the University of La Laguna in 1986. That year

  • Dr Evanthia
    DR EVANTHIA HATZIMINAOGLOU (European Southern Observatory - ESO, Germany)

    Dr Evanthia Hatziminaoglou is a senior astronomer at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Garching, Germany, deputy head of the ALMA Regional Centre and former coor-dinator of the European ARC network (2014-2020). She obtained her degree in Physics from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece, in 1996 and then moved to France, where

  • Dr. A. R. Plastino
    PROF. DR. ANGEL RICARDO PLASTINO (Universidad Nacional del Noroeste de la Provincia de Buenos Aires - UNNOBA, Argentina)

    Angel Ricardo Plastino is a professor in the Department of Basic Sciences at the Universidad Nacional del Noroeste de la Provincia de Buenos Aires (UNNOBA) and obtained his PhD degree in Astronomy in 1994 from the Universidad Nacional de La Plata, both in Argentina. Prof. Plastino's main research interests focus on multidisciplinary applications of

  • Brian Welsch
    BRIAN WELSCH (University of Wisconsin - Green Bay, USA)

    Prof. Brian Welsch completed his Ph.D. thesis, “Magnetic Helicity Transport in the Quiet Sun,” in 2002, under the supervision of Prof. Dana W. Longcope. He subsequently started working for the University of California at Berkeley, at its Space Sciences Laboratory (SSL) as a Visiting Postdoctoral Scholar, working under Dr. George H. Fisher. In 2004

  • Prof. Axel Brandenburg
    PROF. DR. AXEL BRANDENBURG (NORDITA, KTH Royal Institute of Technology & Stockholm University, Sweden)

    Axel Brandenburg (born 1959) is a German astrophysicist. He completed his doctorate in astrophysics in 1990 at the University of Helsinki. Dr. Brandenburg works as a professor of Astrophysics at Nordita (Stockholm) and Stockholm Universities (2007–present). His main fields of research are in solar physics, with emphasis on dynamo theory and

  • Eva Villaver

    Dr. Eva Villaver studies the influence of stars on their environment from two points of view: 1) the interaction with their surrounding interstellar medium in the form of winds, dust and chemical evolution and 2) the evolution of their planetary systems. The research work carried out by Dr. Villaver includes both theoretical and observational